Is “I Am…” A True Statement? | Evolve Thyself

Posted on November 8, 2013

0



The amount of posts on the interwebs about believing in yourself is so vast (did a quick check…type “believe in yourself” into Google & you get 395,000,000 results) that it’s astonishing that we continue to write them…as I’m about to do. Why is that? I think it’s because, as humans, we are constantly trying to find answers. We’re comparing ourselves…even if we’re not comparing ourselves to others, we’re comparing ourselves to previous versions of us, as well as to some standards we’ve arbitrarily set in our mind.

The reality is, we continue searching for, and writing this stuff, because we need it. We’re not done with ourselves yet. Until we hit that fully enlightened point (will we ever hit it?), we’re going to have an innate need to fill our minds with stuff that challenges us, that clues us in to our amazing power & potential, and that makes us discover more of ourselves.

So I was writing a stream of consciousness journal entry on the plane to NYC. These are entries where I just let it ride, “it” being ‘whatever comes out’…no checking for spelling, grammar, or even cohesion. I just start writing, maybe starting with things I’ve got gratitude for, sometimes about a thing that’s frustrating me, and then I just write. (Super helpful for getting out things you didn’t even know were in you.) After I’m done, I look back and read what I’ve written to see what’s there. In that writing sesh, one line stood out more than the rest:

I don’t hold on to beliefs that I’ve proven to be false.
Including ones about myself.

Beliefs. Those things that you think are true about yourself & the world. Common beliefs that humans create are ‘the world is getting worse’, ‘the world is getting better’ ‘I deserve (X)’, & ‘I am not deserving of (X).’ Funny how you could be sitting next to someone right now who holds the exact opposite belief in their head – and has proof to back up their belief, which is directly contrarian to proof you have that backs up your belief. That’s ‘beliefs’ for you.

We often carry into adulthood beliefs that we set as children (& more likely, that were imprinted on us by the adults around us at that time). Beliefs become such an ingrained part of us that we rarely think about them, but they affect the way we think and interact with the world every moment of every day. Your talk, your actions, and your perceptions are three hotbeds for your beliefs to rise up & act out.

When was the last time you took stock of your beliefs & compared them to what you actually know to be true? I’m not talking about ‘changing your attitude,’ or making some surface-level shift that is transient and fleeting when times get rough. I’m saying, take a full-frontal look at exactly what you believe to be true, and comparing it to what you’re actually experiencing. If the two don’t match up, you’ve got work to do. The trick then is to be in a place where you’re ready to accept the new reality and release the old beliefs, in favor of ones that align with what you’re actually seeing.

Because in our mind, our beliefs are often all tangled up in our emotions, taking a logical view of things is one way to get around that & be able to see things without the emotion tangled up in it. You’re not dismissing the emotion from the belief, you’re just setting it to the side for the moment. This way, you can make a logical appraisal of things, and then overlay that with your emotions, and start re-aligning things from there. It ain’t easy though, I can tell you that. But to get to the other side of that?…so worth it.

For now, do this: on paper, or your computer, wherever is most natural for you – take stock of your beliefs and what proof you have to back them up. This is not a new idea I’ve come up with; in fact, Byron Katie’s “The Work” probably influenced my thought process I’m sharing here with you. Her ‘4 Questions’ includes an element of evaluating truth in statements, which is what I’m asking you to do here.

So, is your belief supported by truth? Are you sure?

And remember, beliefs proven false no longer need to be believed.

Posted in: Evolve Thyself