30 Day Challenge: Meal Plan – Day 6

Posted on May 7, 2011

3



Hands down, the most successful day yet!! I was SO proud of the dinner Drew & I put on, and when he gets around to posting the pictorial step-by-step for the yucca chips he made, I’ll link to it. I didn’t feel deprived at all today, and I really enjoyed the TASTE of everything I ate!! I couldn’t say that for some of the meals I’ve had so far on the 30 Day Challenge, but that’s why it’s a Challenge – you try new things, see what your taste buds like, how your taste buds reset to certain flavors, and learn new ways to put meals together.

We get comfortable easily, and we like comfort!, so busting out of it sometimes to expand your nutrition horizons can be tough. But what have you got to lose?? If you do the 30 Day Challenge & you decide you hate it, all you lost was a few weeks of eating your favorite foods. What if you do the Challenge & find that you feel better? Look better? Move better? Enjoy new foods & ways of living that previously you avoided?

If you’re following along in with my meal ideas & the 30 Day Challenge, I hope you’ll give serious consideration to going whole-hog while Drew & I are doing it this month too! If you aren’t ready to go whole-hog, maybe pick a few things out of this challenge that seem the most difficult for you & dive headfirst into them. If you want to learn more, a good place to get started would be the articles on this site listed in the nutrition, gluten intolerance & Optimal Health sections. Also Robb Wolf’s site. And we’re twittering away about our experiences so you can follow the conversation there too! @DW431 or @kgalliett

Pre-Workout: few tsp of unsweetened applesauce (because I’m perpetually hungry when I wake up, but don’t want a meal in my system before working out in the morning)

Breakfast: 1 chicken sausage + 1 protein shake + small bowl sliced strawberries (this was an awesome breakfast! I’ve been tracking my nutrition on LiveStrong, and it gives a good general idea of nutrition, it’s not perfect, but it’s fine. My total calories haven’t really changed, but my macronutrient ratio has….unless it’s a heavy training day, I’m under 150 grams of carbs (and I know, lots of Paleo people are way lower than even that…it’s a process) but all those carbs are from vegetables – which feels like such an accomplishment! No wasted carbs there! I’m eating more fat & more protein – which are the two things that keep you full the best & are what keeps you trim. *It’s not fat that makes you fat.)

Morning Snack: 2 slices Applegate Farms deli turkey + KIND Almond & Coconut bar (I really love sliced turkey!! Also from the LiveStrong tracking, my snacks are WAY higher in protein than they were before – protein builds muscle & provides fuel for the body.)

Lunch: 5 oz pulled pork mixed with leftover jicama slaw + 1/2 cup roasted broccoli (pulled pork always makes me think of summer barbeques & it was the PERFECT compliment to the cold jicama slaw! Brocolli is a great alkalizing veggie – when eaten, it helps the body become more alkaline & less acidic. If you don’t understand the pH of the body, just know this. Sickness & disease = acidic environment in the body. An alkaline body makes for a tough environment for the stuff that makes you sick to survive.)

Snack: medium banana + 1 tsp raw almond butter + 4 pecans (I sliced up the banana into a bowl, scraped a tsp of nut butter in with it, then sprinkled the pecans on top. It was REALLY tasty!! I was heading to a massage – which was AWESOME, and if you live in the Chicagoland area, I would happily recommend her to you! She works on trigger points & fascial massage, which is in-line with how I teach my clients to care for their body outside of the cardio or strength training. Contact me on the blog, on FB, or Twitter if you’d like her contact info. So I wanted a snack before I went to that because dinner was a long way off.)

Dinner: few pieces yucca (mouth watering just thinking of those) + 1 bowl Robb Wolf Paleo spaghetti (step by step listed below so you too can make this easy meal!…it included grass fed ground beef, leftover veggies in the fridge – green pepper & zucchini – & 1/2 a spaghetti squash) (Robb recommends using spaghetti squash, so Drew got one & got it roasting in the oven for an hour. He just threw it in whole & while that was cooking, he also cooked up some yucca, which ROCKED! and we snacked on it as a little appetizer. After an hour, the squash was done & we cut it in half and scraped out the seeds. Then we scraped out the “spaghetti” from the squash & set it aside.

Once the squash was done, I pulled out whatever veg was in the fridge – leftover green pepper & a zucchini sounded good. There was leftover olive oil in the pan from the yucca so we chopped the veg & tossed them in there to saute. I took 3/4 of a lb of grass-fed beef that was leftover and browned it in another pan with a dash of salt/pepper.

When the meat was almost done, I added the veggies to it & approx. 3/4 of the contents of 1/2 of the squash then poured 1/2 a jar of marinara sauce into the pan and stirred to coat everything. As you can see from the picture, it looked like a legit pasta dinner MINUS any form of grain!! It was filling, the flavors , & there was a sizeable amount of leftovers! 

**A notes I thought were important about this meal: we calculated, that with the grass-fed beef, the squash, the veggies, the sauce & the oil – this whole meal came out to $9. It served two people ample portions along w/a 3rd mini-meal portion, & provided enough squash leftover to make another 2 person batch! That is a money saving meal if I ever saw one! And all high-quality ingredients!

Dinner/Post Dinner Drink: NorCal Margarita (since we didn’t get to enjoy one on Cinco, why not on a random Fri night?! Couldn’t be simpler & definitely your fru-fru drink you find at the all-inclusives on sunny beaches! Since we wanted our 1st one to be ‘by the book’, we measured the tequila because, I’m pretty sure we don’t pour that much alcohol into 1 drink at home, ever. The recipe calls for 2 shots tequila + the juice of an entire lime + club soda. Stir. Enjoy. It was a true lime tequila flavor, no sugars to screw things up, and it certainly did its job, when after 1, the Lightweight Club over here felt the effects. 🙂


