Turkey, Spinach & Goat Cheese Quiche

Posted on March 15, 2010

5


My birthday month has been a culinary delight thus far! I can’t begin to tell you how much I love food, love cooking it, and am learning to love seeing what others create in their pursuit of a fabulous meal or dessert for our enjoyment. That last one is tougher for me to get my hands around because I know just how I would make each little bit of food to bring the meal together. Watching someone else take their own creativity and skills and run with the meal, is like telling a small child that it’s not their birthday so ‘no, they cannot “help” the birthday child unwrap their gifts.’ The urge is just so strong to get in there and get my hands involved….but I’m learning, and Drew is good at telling me to go sit my ass down so he can do his thing in the kitchen.

Quiche recipe to come, but first – this top set of pictures is from my birthday night dinner. On the menu? A home-cooked three course meal focusing on delights from the ocean! First up, a cheese course, paired with a great chardonnay. Simple, but so tasty, and perfect for the “in-between time” before the real food started. No picture because the cheese was gone before I could snap a shot. Second course was seared scallops in a butter sauce flavored with wine, fresh thyme, garlic & whatever other spice love got thrown in there.

 Check out the carmelization & butter-y goodness dripping off those scallops! Oh, was my stomach in heaven! Next up was a little more wine & the main course, wild caught swordfish with sautéed green & white asparagus. Swordfish is an oily fish & is a thick steak-like cut of fish. It’s not too “fishy” and really picks up the flavor of what it’s cooked with. Here, Drew featured those sunny little lemons along with thyme, pepper, and secret spices to which I was not privy to. This type of fish also is very filling, like a piece of red meat, so this made a marvelous lunch the next day!

After taking these pics, I realized I don’t usually eat white colored foods, and I’m glad for that since they almost disappear on my plates!

A few weeks later, it was on to the quiche! I was having the extended family over for a little birthday celebration & wanted to make an egg dish that would serve a small crowd easily. I could not believe how easy it was to whip this little quiche together – the only downer being the word “little” because it was just that. I really thought it would turn out as more food than it did, and in the future would increase this recipe in order for everyone to have a bigger piece. This quiche is savory, fresh & super simple (which I think enhances the flavor simply for that fact). And, it’s gluten-free & as organic as you’d like it to be!

Fresh out of the oven – it’s quiche time! I did one with a gluten-free crust & one crust-less, both worked great. I seriously cannot tell you have mouth-watering these smelled as they came out of the oven. And I’m not kidding about the size – we stretched these to serve 11 people but each pan really should have served 4 given how flavorful they were.

I love this picture for all that it showcases in my little kitchen – I remember first moving in & not being able to cook anything properly due to poor tools to do the job. One time I resorted to canned chicken because I could not figure out how to cook chicken using my junk-y saute pans. I don’t think I even finished the canned chicken meal, it was so inedible, and from there started acquiring items to make cooking fun & flavorful. And it takes time – unless you’re getting married – to acquire over the years the stuff you want to use to be able to cook real food & have it taste really good. “Real Grilling” cookbook to assist in properly grilling red meats, “1ooo Gluten Free recipes” hiding behind “Real Grilling”, grill pan for indoor grilling when the frozen tundra that is Chicago keeps you cooking indoors, food processor to really make your own sauces, crusts, doughs & more, coffee grinder to fresh-grind organic coffee, butchers block with a good chef’s knife. Getting to cook for others can be such an enjoyable part of life & good tools make the end product so much better! Enjoy this recipe & I hope you’ll cook it for someone soon (even if you are that ‘someone’, you’re worth it!)

Gluten Free Turkey, Spinach & Goat Cheese Quiche

Serves 8 – recipe halves easily to serve 4

Ingredients:

2 pre-made gluten free pie crusts (if using a crust) OR 2 round cake pans

Cooking spray for cake pans (if doing crustless version)

Olive oil (1 Tbsp)

1 sweet onion, cut into thin slices

2 handfuls baby spinach

10 gluten-free roasted turkey deli slices, cut into strips

8 eggs

1 1/3 cups whole milk

3-5 oz. goat cheese

salt & pepper to your taste, remember this recipe makes 2 pans of quiche so a liberal hand works fine here, just watch your overall salt intake!

6 shakes of nutmeg, not an accurate measure I know, but it seemed like something I’ve seen in quiches before so I threw it in today & it gave it that “can’t put my finger on what tastes so good” flavor

Steps:

– Preheat oven to 350. If doing crusts, follow package directions & bake ahead of time. You’ll “re-bake” them with the eggs in them later.

– Heat oil in saute pan on medium heat.

– Add onion slices to pan, it should look like a lot of onions. Keep stirring until translucent & soft, about 3-5 mins.

– Remove from heat & set in a dish to the side.

– Put turkey slices in pan getting as much of the turkey in contact with the hot pan to sear the meat.

– Remove from heat when turkey browns up. Set to side.

– Put spinach in pan until wilted.

– Whisk eggs, milk, salt, pepper & nutmeg in a large bowl.

– Spray cake pans with cooking spray. Put a layer of onions on the bottom, almost covering the bottom of the pan.

– Put spinach in next, placing around the pan evenly.

– Pour egg mixture into pans slowly so everything can settle in pan.

– Add turkey slices to egg mixture.

– Top with crumbled goat cheese.

– Bake for 30-40 mins until a knife inserted in the center comes out mostly clean. You’ll know it’s done when you cut into it because it will have a spring-y texture. If it’s not done, it will feel liquid-y. Serve immediately!

Posted in: recipes