It’s appropriate that I say “What on God’s green earth is THIS?!”

Posted on September 25, 2009

0


Date Complete Menu Ala carte
Monday
Sep 21
Baked ham, au gratin potato, green beans and cream pie Quesadilla
Mini Taco
French Fries
Tuesday
Sep 22
Beef n bean burrito, refried beans, spanish rice and Butterfinger brownies Cheeseburger
Onion Rings
French Fries
Wednesday
Sep 23
Spaghetti and meatballs, tossed salad, garlic bread and yellow cake Italian Beef
Mozzarella Sticks
French Fries
Thursday
Sep 24
Sweet and sour chicken over rice, egg roll, fortune cookie and lemon bars PIzza –
Stuffed Crust &
Four Cheese
French Fries
Friday
Sep 25
BBQ Pork, baked beans, potato salad and brownies Rib Sandwich
Mini Corn Dogs
French Fries

You are looking at the menu for this past week’s school lunches at the Catholic high school I attended – they taught us about God’s green earth, and I’m pretty sure trans fat, sodium excess & sugar load was NOT something he put on it!

I was on the website getting info about my reunion this weekend & thought to myself, ‘let’s just take a look at what they’re serving these days…’ Because when I was there, I can remember clearly that a suitable lunch was fries, a diet soda, & a frozen yogurt parfait with oreos or m&m’s layered in…and yes, before I was a convert, I partook in this lunch from time to time.

The justification came something around the fact that we were athletes in-season, who also had just finished our strength-training class in gym & had only had a frozen waffle for breakfast so the calories were needed. Um, gross?

I need a moment here to not want to rip my computer screen off the laptop because seriously, how in the hell are kids supposed to have a chance when THIS garbage is what they have the option to purchase every day? No wonder 1 in 3 kids is overweight or obese!! The menu above is not necessarily the fault only of the school, no, that blame can be spread around many groups- the gov’t for not having higher lunch-standards, the school board for not springing for more healthful options, probably blame should go to parents too for giving their kids money to buy this stuff rather than teach their kids to see this list & go “DISGUSTING!” as you should be doing right now.

If you have kids, start them early learning about what healthy food choices are & why they are not something they choose to be different from other kids, but something that makes them unique because it is making them optimally well. If you don’t have kids, take a moment to realize that you are being bombarded by the “school lunch” that is McD’s/Burger King/Applebee’s…even Panera/Subway type places that hide their good stuff under fat & carbs.

Finally, I just got the letter in the mail to donate to my high school’s fund…I’ll donate if they let me mark the funds as “required in the use of overhauling the school menu.”

Posted in: nutrition